[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 160 KB, 1024x630, Junger.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
20969612 No.20969612 [Reply] [Original]

I finished reading 'Uber Die Linien', its my first time reading Junger and I wasnt expecting the writing to be so obscurantist and dense, i liked it alot but I didnt understand one of the central concepts he mentions like the titular 'line' or 'limit' or 'zero point' of nihilism. At a point in the book he argues nihil cannot be truly reached by human perception and how it is only present in the World as transformative of other objects. So what is that 'line' relating to nihilism then? Im kinda confused.

>> No.20969707

He writes like Heidegger, and actually, Junger and Heidegger have a lot in common. The only obvious concept in Junger is this figure of the anarch. Everything else is exactly like you said.

Here's a Junger scholar on Uber de Linie:
>(nachhaltige Förderung) in the work of Jünger be?
In Über die Linie, which was first published in a liber amicorum
occasioned by the sixtieth birthday of Heidegger in 1949, Jünger discusses the
question whether we live in the age of fulfilled nihilism and, if so, whether we
can overcome such nihilism. Jünger wants to cross the line of nihilism into a
new era where “eine neue Zuwendung des Seins” takes place and puts an end
to the age of fulfilled nihilism.

Basically, he's saying there's a line where nihilism either subsumes everything like a black hole or is overcome with a new way of being. As best I can tell, Junger's conception of nihilism was bound up closely with technology, and it sounds to me like he explains more or less the same concept as this in An der Zeitmauer.

>> No.20969721
File: 55 KB, 378x566, höhöhöhö.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

>>20969612